An ASKAP antenna at the Murchison Radio-astronomy Observatory. Image Credit: Ant Schinckel, CSIRO.




Welcome to Astronomy Australia Ltd

Our vision: Australian-based astronomers will have access to the best astronomical research infrastructure.

AAL will achieve this vision by engaging with astronomers in support of the national research infrastructure priorities of the Australian astronomy decadal plan, and advising the Australian Government on the investments necessary to realise those priorities.

Latest News

28th June 2016: Astronomy Australia Ltd advertised for a Program Manager to be responsible for overseeing research infrastructure projects, with a particular focus on identifying and supporting increased collaboration with industry partners. Further details about the job are available here. Applications have closed.

30th May 2016: The Murchison Widefield Array (MWA) Call for Proposals for semester 2016-B (Oct - Dec 2016) has been announced, with applications closing 30th June 2016. More details at:
Note: in 2016B, 800 hours of MWA observing time are available for allocation in the guaranteed time and open access categories. Due to the ongoing MWA phase 2 upgrade, general observing is only available in the last quarter of the calendar year. Note also that in 2016B, the MWA will be reconfigured into the new compact configuration, as described in the call for proposal document.

16th May 2016: AAL is pleased to congratulate the SkyMapper Team on the first public release of science-grade data from its five-year Southern Sky Survey. The data is available to Australian astronomers via the SkyMapper Node of the All Sky Virtual Observatory project, which has received funding from the Australian Government primarily through the National Collaborative Infrastructure Research Strategy (NCRIS) and NeCTAR.


News Archive


AAL Calendar